Blogging Again: Looking for the Cyclorama

panorama

cyclorama

“a picture exhibited a part at a time by being unrolled before the spectator” (Full definition, n.d.)

QUINNLOOK is back!

Previous explorations in this blog looked at young adult literature.  Now let’s peer into the world of COMICS AND GRAPHIC NOVELS IN THE LIBRARY!

But why start this post with a definition of cyclorama?  My current limited experience with comics and graphic novels has a ‘panoramic’ feel, e.g., the way the panels can sequence from side-to-side, the way that one visual leads so strongly into the next, the way that my thoughts expand so effortlessly when I read them.

When I searched for panorama in the dictionary, cyclorama was in the list of definitions.  This reminded me how comics and graphic novels ‘unroll’ over pages.  I’m curious about how the frames/texts/perspectives come together to tell stories.

During the three-and-a-half years I’ve worked in a Children’s and Teen Services public library department, I’ve seen graphic novels take their place on the shelves as defined collections.  I have a beginner’s understanding about this form of literature, and I need to appreciate it further.  I am quite intrigued about what comics and graphic novels offer to readers and to the library community.

It’s exciting to have the opportunity to study in a graduate seminar, where I expect lively discussions and lots of discovery concerning literature that can bring about both enthusiasm and hesitance among library users (and staff!).

My thoughts, wonder, and learning will ‘unroll’ via QUINNLOOK as my literary panoramas expand!

Reference

Full definition of PANORAMA. (n.d.) Retrieved on January 29, 2016 from http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/panorama

 

Leave a Reply

